Review: Atkins Harvest Bar

I’m not much of a fan of bars like these; primarily because they’re usually filled with crap like raisins, which are The Enemy. But I looked at the thing before purchase and saw they were absent, so got one to test.

Which is the first aspect I’ll mention; good move on them to allow me to see the thing through the plastic window. Looks like crushed nuts and slices of coconut, presumably held together by some sticky substance. Well, it’s either that or oddly sweaty as drops (of some form) have gone onto the window. Rather… firm. Which bodes well in regards to keeping it’s shape when bit into, bodes ill for my temporary filling covering my crown-work (who would have thought it would take four sessions?).

Once I’ve opened it up (pretty easily) the hit of coconut hits first; the shininess confirms that it’s a rather sticky product. Somewhat soft in bite; tastes like…. well, coconuts, almonds and apricots. Which is amazing for that’s the product. Bit gluey. Slightly odd after-taste which I can’t really identify. In all; not pleasant, but not unpleasant either. I’d eat it if hungry, but that’s it.

Nutritionally; it’s relatively heavy on the fats. Well, it is an Atkins product. Salt is low, has a bit of protein in it and – the biggest bonus – one of the highest fibre ratings I’ve ever encountered in a bar form. Including actual fibre bars. Would I buy it again? Possibly; though not likely. There were two other flavours in the range, of which it’s possible I could have liked one or both. Would have made a decent snack for folk following a cutting diet and/or desiring extra fibre.

You might have noticed that I’ve started talking in the past sense; for after a check of shops (of both types) and the Atkins official site has led me to the conclusion that they’ve been discontinued. Oh well. Think the price had something to do with it; not enough protein to be a protein bar, too expensive to be a fibre bar…

But I’ll post this anyway, for informational value.

Nutritionals:

Per 100gPer Bar
Energy455 cal182 cal
Fat30g12g
…which is saturates9.3g3.7g
Carbohydrate18.5g7.4g
…which is sugars11.5g4.6g
Fibre25g10g
Protein15g6g
Salt0.30g0.12g

Facts:

Full Name: Atkins Harvest Trail Bar

RRP: £1.85 (40g)

Available At: Unknown

Ultimate Owner: The Simply Good Foods Co. (United States).

Date of Testing: 31st January 2020.

Version Tested: Coconut, Apricot and Almond.

As everything on this blog, merely my own thoughts and opinions. I’ve not received anything for this review. Facts correct at date of testing. Part of my Product Reviews series.

Leave a comment