Review: Tribe Oat Bar

I didn’t buy this one; a sibling of mine did. Didn’t ask where they’d got it from; chances are they saw it cheap somewhere and got it knowing I eat such stuff. Perfectly ordinary an event; I’ve in the past passed over, say cheap pet foods and so on for similar reasons. So, it seems that my ‘coming out’ as being into fitness has paid off slightly. Anyway, to the point of this post; the product review.

I’ve seen Tribe around a bit recently; think it’s a new product or something. Or it’s been around for ages and I’ve just noticed. Well, that’s happened before. They’re getting – as far as I can tell – fairly decent coverage, which makes me suspect they’re part of a big company or something. The packet reminds me a touch of the Trek bar; which I strongly suspect is deliberate as I think they’re after the same market segment. Another vegan-friendly product; the pedantic part of me points out that then also announcing “dairy-free” is redundant (as all former ones are also the latter).

Open up the packet fine; it looks like a flapjack. Smell; strongly of cinnamon. Looks rather moist, breaks apart okay. Now I can see inside, it looks a bit… seedy. Firm bite. There’s more seeds. The taste is a bit… odd. Apple, almonds and dates in my book don’t really go together. Reminds me a bit of some of the weirder concoctions you get offered at Christmas. Pretty chewy, though is fairly moist within.

Nutritionally, it’s not that bad. As an “energy bar”, it’s got low saturates and salt and respectable levels of fibre and protein. It’s proportionally lower carbohydrates make it worth looking at for those following various cutting diets but would like to retain some air of being a normal human being.

My personal verdict is that no, I wouldn’t seek out this product to purchase. However, my reasons are basically on the criteria of taste alone; if you like the taste, then go ahead. But, saying that; if I was offered a bar and was somewhat hungry, I’d eat it again.

(Note: I tried and failed to actually find out who ultimately owns this company. If you know, please leave a comment stating it)

Nutritionals:

Per 100gPer Bar
Energy406 cal191 cal
Fat20.2g9.5g
…which is saturates2.8g1.3g
Carbohydrate36.2g17g
…which is sugars16g7.5g
Fibre11.9g5.6g
Protein14.3g6.7g
Salt0.38g0.18g

Facts:

Full Name: Tribe Natural Oat Bar

RRP: £1.80 (47g)

Available At: Boots, Morrisons.

Ultimate Owner: Unknown

Date of Testing: 14th February 2020.

Version Tested: Apple & Cinnamon

As everything on this blog, merely my own thoughts and opinions. I’ve not received anything for this review. Facts correct at date of testing. Part of my Product Reviews series.

Leave a comment